Surprised by Surprised by Joy – C.S. Lewis

I remember as a child seeing something out of the corner of my eye, having an ‘ahh’ moment and thinking “there it is”, but when I turned to get it I had no idea what it was or why I needed it.  The memory of that sensation is still strong; I know where I was but don’t really remember why I had gone into that room or really anything else about that day.

When Pink Floyd’s song Comfortably Numb came out I could definitely relate to the lines, “When I was a child I caught a fleeting glimpse, out of the corner of my eye, I turned to look but it was gone, I can not put my finger on it now, the child is grown, the dream is gone, I have become comfortably numb.”  This was the first time I thought I might not be the only one.

Then he said, “I tell you the truth, unless you turn from your sins and become like little children, you will never get into the Kingdom of Heaven.
Matthew 18:3 (NLT)

Is this what Jesus was talking about; how the child dies as we grow and become numb, no longer seeing all of His works around us?

I have been reading Surprised by Joy by C.S. Lewis and as he describes his childhood I am amazed at how he describes the same feelings I had when I was a child, although we grew up in completely different situations.  For example his family was financially wealthy but his mother died when he was young, where my family didn’t have much money but my mother stayed home to raise the kids; he loved books and hated math, I was the opposite.

So what’s my point?  Have you felt this way too?  For a long time I thought it was just me, and then I thought it was just the way I was interpreting that song.  Now I think I get it, so if this is at all familiar get a copy and read it.

2 Responses to “Surprised by Surprised by Joy – C.S. Lewis”

  1. Great post! Reading the Pink Floyd lyrics makes me think of how sometimes I feel that as we transition from childhood to adulthood there is a sense of loss in the areas of hope and innocence. I think a lot of the disgruntled feelings we entertain as adults are based on this idea that life didn’t end up matching the picture we had for it when we were kids. I have known people who entered the career they always wanted, married the right person, had all their ducks in a row, and yet still ended up filling unfulfilled. Ultimately, I think it all resides in the fallen nature of the creation itself. Outside of the Jesus and the kingdom we will never know what fulfillment truly is. I think that what Jesus was saying in the scripture above is that we have to shed the disappointment that came with searching for fulfillment in the fallen world by receiving forgiveness of sin from Him and replace it with a pure innocence hope that is only fulfilled in the kingdom.

    Again great post!

    Tony

  2. […] Fog on I-71 We had to drive through some pretty thick fog during our travels this past weekend.  For about twenty miles we had very poor visibility with the exception of some momentary totally clear spots followed by what looked like a white wall as we went back into the thick fog.  The tail lights of those who (to be kind) apparently have better fog-vision than I do, would vanish just after they passed us.  I wonder if this is what it is like in our Christian walk.  Walking through thick fog unable to see, with moments of clarity that are gone as quickly as they came – like the ‘ahh moments’ I talked about previously (https://ke4juh.wordpress.com/2008/10/21/ahh/) […]

Leave a Reply

