Always Give Thanks

My father died recently and I want to share something that gave me insight into prayer and giving thanks.  My step-son had only met my father a couple of times so when my wife told me that he was really upset about my father’s death and that he really liked my father I thought it was a little unusual since he really didn’t know my father.  When I related this to my mother she told me that since they shared a common interest in airplanes my father had sent him some articles and stuff of interest to an avaiation enthusiast because that’s just how my father was.  She added that since he never heard anything back, after a while, he stopped sending stuff.

Our Heavenly Father is the same way, only to a much higher degree; He takes joy in doing things for us but if we don’t give thanks He might stop.  So when we pray we need to give thanks, even for the stuff we take for granted because these things are all gifts from God.  We are not praying just to ask for things that we want; we are thanking God for the things He takes joy in giving to us.

So what about when we ask for stuff, is that bad?

Maybe those who have nieces/nephews/grandchildren that don’t live close to you will relate to this.  A few years back I asked my brothers for Christmas wish-lists for their kids.  I did everything but beg for lists because I don’t see the kids that often and I wanted to send good gifts so they remember me, but, no lists came.  So I decided to send each of the kids a set of noise makers to teach their parents to send me Christmas lists; I ordered 4 sets, each had a tambourine, a pair of maracas, a recorder and a harmonica.  I figured all that noise would make an impact, but the next year there were no lists – I was very frustrated that I had to guess at what these kids might like; I think there was even one year when I didn’t send anything.

I want to give those kids cool stuff but I need them to tell me what they want and I think God wants us to tell Him what we want (even though He already knows our hearts He wants us to say it).  Of course, I wouldn’t get the kids something that wouldn’t be good for them and God doesn’t give us things that aren’t good for us.

Lord,
Thank You for all those things You do for me and for answering my prayers.  I understand that sometimes You have to say no because I don’t always ask for what is good.  Please, give me wisdom to know what is right and help me remember to always give thanks and never take anything for granted.  I ask this in the beautiful name of Your son, Jesus

Amen

One Response to “Always Give Thanks”

  1. This is good stuff. I know that when I do stuff for other people, I often get pretty bummed out when they don’t say thanks. The same with asking. I can think of serveral times in my life that people have just expected me to know what they want from me but never ask me to give it or do it. Obviously, God has a leg up on us in that he know all our desires, but the scripture makes its clear that we are to ask.

    Matthew 7:7-8

    7 “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.

    8 For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.

    And in James 4:2-3 we find exactly what you were saying that sometimes we don’t receive becuase we don’t ask or we ask for the wrong thing.

    James 4:2-3

    2 You desire and do not have, so you murder. You covet and cannot obtain, so you fight and quarrel. You do not have, because you do not ask.

    3 You ask and do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions.

    Also, great prayer at the end. May we all pray it daily.

    Tony

Leave a Reply

