Remember Your Roots

I wasn’t going to blog about the election but I think I have something to add to all the noise. 

Some perspective; I was not a fan of either candidate; my ideal/impossible ticket would have been Hillary Clinton/Rudolph Giuliani because they are pragmatic moderates.  As for the two majors; McCain, and the Republicans in general, tend to be idealists that get us into wars, this doesn’t exactly show the world Christian love, making them come off as hypocrites since their platform is generally based on their Christian values.  As an aside one comment I heard on McCain was that we shouldn’t forget his service to the country when he was a POW and since, this is just absurd, just because he suffered for the country doesn’t mean you make him President (it may even be reason to disqualify him as he may be unstable because of the torture he endured).  Obama on the other hand strikes me as a pretty boy who’s had a charmed life; he’s a great speaker but is he real?  I pray that he is but I’m not sure.  Before I get to my real point I will say that McCain’s concession speech last night was excellent he said what needed to be said and I believe he meant it, although he did go on about twice as long as he should have.

Now to get to my main point; here’s a little family history.  My Grandfather was shipped to the United States of America by his family from a small oppressed town in Ireland because the British were taking all the boys who were old enough to fight and shipping them off to war.  Most would never return.  When he arrived in the US he was among the unwelcome Irish that nobody wanted.  I don’t know the fine details of his life but he eventually became a driver for a wealthy family.  My grandmother, also Irish, was a live-in maid for a different family, only seeing her husband and children occasionally.  That was my father’s side of the family.  On the other side, my mother’s grandparents were from Poland, a nation that has been nothing but oppressed.  My grandmother actually spoke both English and Polish (a very challenging language) but refused to teach her children Polish (what a waste) because she wanted them to be all-American so they would be spared the problems being different brings.

So, now you know where I come from, what does this have to do with the election?  Well, seeing the hope that this country represents being fulfilled and the excitement in the diverse groups of faces gathered in Chicago, Atlanta, and Harlem (to borrow a line from John Bunyan’s book Pilgrim’s Progress) “made the water stand in my eyes.” 

The thing is that the next generation in my family tree will no longer have that connection to the past.  My grandparents are long gone, there is nobody left to tell the stories.  The coming generation can not understand oppression.

You might say that’s a good thing, but is it?  They will be soft for they have known nothing of oppression and suffering.  So how will they be able to withstand prosecution and stand fast for the Kingdom?

“Then you will be arrested, persecuted, and killed. You will be hated all over the world because you are my followers.”
Matthew 24:9 (NLT)

“If the world hates you, remember that it hated me first.”
John 15:18 (NLT)

I fear I already see this weakness taken to the next level in many Christians who are full of angst toward those who do not fit their idea of a Christian.

“Don’t repay evil for evil. Don’t retaliate with insults when people insult you. Instead, pay them back with a blessing. That is what God has called you to do, and he will bless you for it.”
1 Peter 3:9 (NLT)

“Anyone who hates another brother or sister [Greek hates his brother.] is really a murderer at heart. And you know that murderers don’t have eternal life within them.”
1 John 3:15 (NLT)

Let us pray,

Heavenly Father, it is by your great mercy that we were called into your family.  Our sins are many and we are undeserving of your consideration but please hear our prayer.  We give thanks that you led our families to the United States just as you delivered your people from slavery in Egypt.  Please let us never forget where we come from and the mercy that you’ve shown us, lest we fall into great sin and be cast away.  May we remain your humble servants and always have great joy in glorifying your name.  In Jesus’ name we pray.
Amen

2 Responses to “Remember Your Roots”

  1. Jim,

    Solid post sir. Were are blessed that we don’t suffer the hatred and persecution that Church does in other areas of the world, but as the scriptures you included points out we are not immune. I hope that when hard times come I am able to hold to the Truth and to the Rock that I know will sustain me.

    Peace.

    Tony

  2. Good post Jim. I echo the thoughts of my brother. We are very blessed to live in this Country and enjoy the freedoms we have.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

