In These Last Days . . .

I have a problem with end-time preaching; I often hear that the end is coming soon and how the Bible predicts it because of this or that, but every generation has thought that they would be the last generation.  It’s human arrogance to think we are of some special generation.  While I have no doubt that life on Earth will end at some point, after all nothing in our universe lasts forever, it is not likely to end during my lifetime.  However unlikely, we should still be prepared at all times to be judged because we don’t know when we will die.

Hebrews 9:27 “And just as it is appointed for man to die once, and after that comes judgment…”

When you left your house this morning, did you lock your door?  I think I did but I have come home on several occasions finding that I had forgotten to lock my door, but nothing bad had happened.  Nobody came in and robbed me; even though they could have just walked in and taken anything they wanted.  Yet when I found the door unlocked I thought, ‘I got lucky this time; I need to be more careful.’  Why?  Because I know that I would have nobody but myself to blame if it did happen and that if I left the door unlocked all of the time eventually it would happen.  None of us lives forever and few choose the time of their passing.  Who would say, “Today is my last day; I must settle my debts so I may die with a clear conscience.”  There are a few who know they are dying and have the chance to make plans but most don’t have that opportunity.

1 Thessalonians 5:2 “For you yourselves are fully aware that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night.”

So what’s my problem with end-time preaching, now that I have argued myself into a corner?  The problem is that it raises an unnecessary question/debate, “are we the last generation?”  And people tend to get off-point and argue from their feelings and opinion when even the Bible warns about trying to predict this. 

Matthew 24:23 Then if anyone says to you, ‘Look, here is the Christ!’ or ‘There he is!’ do not believe it.

We won’t know when Christ is returning until it’s too late but as Christians we do know without any doubt that each of us will die and face judgment and that should be enough information to keep us on course and encourage us to evangelize our unsaved neighbors.

Scripture quotations are from The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®, copyright © 2001 by Crossway Bibles, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

3 Responses to “In These Last Days . . .”

  1. I thought Jesus was coming back in 1988. At least that’s what the book “88 Reasons for 88”, was all about. Seriously though you make a good point here. What is our faith outside the Gospel? It seems that many times we get caught up in convesations that just aren’t as important as the good news of Jesus for the fogiveness of sin and the reconcilliation of the lost to the Father. Thanks for this post. Quite challenging.

    Peace.

    Tony

  2. Richard Ryan Says:

    Would like to leave a detailed reply as I feel we are near the end. Having been dead once already I understand the concept of not knowing what the next moment in life holds. I was unloading my truck in Baltimore one moment and the next thing I remember is a Doctor standing over me telling me how lucky I was to be alive. At that time I was ready to go, but four years later I have things I would “like” to do, but in reality all that matters is do you have a relationship with God. A very personal one thru his son the Lord Jesus Christ. My answer would take some time, but it is late and I am suppose to leave town for a couple days. Lord willing will explain when I get back. If I don’t see here, I’ ll see you there. later. TheTurtle

  3. Jim,

    I do believe that Jesus is coming back soon but not in our lifetime. Of course I don’t have anything to back that up but like Tony said we have heard the Jesus is coming every since we could remember. My guess is a couple of thousand years, if we haven’t already destroyed the planet by then. But then again I don’t believe thats ipart of Gods plan. Good post man. Take care

    Chris

Leave a Reply

