The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

I read this book a year ago but it came up in Bible study last night so here’s my quick introduction to it.

The premise is interesting as each chapter represents a letter from Screwtape (a senior tempter) to his nephew Wormwood (a young tempter) regarding one particular man’s life. The setting is England during war time and we do not get to see Wormwood’s letters. So we are basically being made privy to the enemy’s actions in trying to collect souls and some of the tactics they might use.

This is not a difficult read or overly long and I recommend that every Christian read this book. If you do please come back and post your comments here, thanks and God bless.

2 Responses to “The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis”

  1. Jim,

    You just reminded me that I need to finsh this book. I read about 20 pages then picked up something else. But I will put this back on the night stand and try to finish it up. I am also excited about the ” Mere Christanity ” book study with you guys..Take care…Chris

  2. Ah, my second favorite Lewis book, but my first love. Lewis’ ability to get into our collective heads is mind-blowing at times. The contemporary renditions by Randy Alcorn, especially the second one, are pretty awesome too.

Leave a Reply

