Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

Tim Challies is running a group reading of Mere Christianity (www.challies.com), please check it out and join in the fun of reading this great book with the group. Here are some thoughts on the genesis of the book during WWII.

My first thought on how this was initially delivered is that we (at least most people in the US) don’t have a clue of what it was like to live in England during WWII. I’ve never lived anywhere that was under attack with nightly bombings. I’m thinking it would be something like Atlanta declared war; Chattanooga just fell and Nashville (where I currently live) is being shelled and the rest of the world doesn’t want to get involved. These are conditions that could shake one’s faith and this is the audience being addressed. So does this book have value today? I say yes, we are currently under worldwide financial siege by an invisible enemy. Many will point fingers and fight over what is causing the recession but there is no doubt that loss of faith in financial systems is adding to the problem. Times like these will either shake our faith in God or strengthen it, making Mere Christianity relevant today.

So let us pray for wisdom and understanding as we embark on a journey to understand Mere Christianity.

Heavenly Father,
You are God; great and merciful; the creator of all that we know. Please give each of us insight and wisdom as we read about Christianity as a group. Let this book be a tool to strengthen the faith of all that read it and an instrument to grow your kingdom on earth. We pray in Jesus name that you will grant this.
Amen

3 Responses to “Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis”

  1. C.S. Lewis is a awesome author. He puts stuff in a certain way that no one else can.

    IAmTheDesperate

  2. Jim,

    Just got through the preface and intro. I am looking forward to this study. I am also going through the screwtape letters..Good stuff..Chris

  3. Thanks for dropping by my spot. I’m enjoying the reading so far, and my husband, Paul is too. Funny you should bring up the Screwtape Letters. I’ve just decided today to reread that book (which I haven’t read since college – over 20 years ago – when I was a mere professor of Christianity). I’m preparing to do a ladies’ study through John Owen’s, The Mortification of Sin, and thought this might be an excellent companion text. I’ve not gotten enough solid teaching on “spiritual warfare” and rarely remember that indwelling sin is not my only enemy. I suspect I’m not alone in that.

Leave a Reply

