A Time For Everything

Ecclesiastes 3:1-6 (NLT)
For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven.  A time to be born and a time to die. A time to plant and a time to harvest.  A time to kill and a time to heal. A time to tear down and a time to build up. A time to cry and a time to laugh.  A time to grieve and a time to dance.  A time to scatter stones and a time to gather stones.  A time to embrace and a time to turn away.  A time to search and a time to quit searching…

Have you ever celebrated Christmas away from home?  How about exchanging gifts with relatives at a hospital?  There’s a first time for everything and we are back at the hospital visiting my wife’s sister.  Her kids are holding up pretty good; her husband is putting up a good front most of the time but he had to stop short when he started to talk about his wife’s condition; my wife alternates between looking OK and losing it and her mom is barely holding together.  Here’s the thing, even the ICU waiting room couldn’t keep Christmas out, and people were in better spirits than usual.  The odds may be stacked against my sister-in-law but God is still in control, so even though we don’t always understand why things happen the way they do, we know there is a good reason.

Romans 8:28 (ESV)
And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. 

Job 9:4 (NLT) For God is so wise and so mighty.  Who has ever challenged him successfully?

And it is not our place to ask why, we are simply to have faith and praise God.  Her life has always been in God’s hands as it is with each one of us.  So, why do we only turn to Him when there is trouble in our lives?  And when things get really tough we question things as our faith is shaken. 

Heavenly Father,
You have all the power and are deserving of our praise, yet our faith is weak.  We ask that you strengthen our faith as your will is done in our lives.  And though we are undeserving sinners we ask that you have mercy on our sister.  We give thanks for the salvation we have through your son Jesus and it is in his great name that we pray.
Amen

2 Responses to “A Time For Everything”

  1. Jim,

    We are keeping you and your family in our prayers. I know how tough it is sitting in the waiting room not know what is going to happen to a loved one. We lost a dear member of our Church family yesterday who lost her battle with Cancer. The tough part was she was in her 50’s and her husband had lost his first wife to Cancer also. But today he was in Church praising the Lord louder than anyone. We can only hope that the lords will be done and that her husband and children will turn to Jesus for comfort and support. Take care…Chris

  2. Jim,

    I think one of the most frustrating things my Dad would say to me when I was a kid was, “because I said so, that why”. I don’t know for sure why we are such inquisitive creatures. As a parent now I can empathize with what my Dad was feeling. I know that there are things I tell my kids to do simply to lead, guide, or protect them and inevitably they always ask me why I am telling them to do such. I see in my kids this inability to trust that their father loves and knows what is good for them and for them to just enjoy the ride. I wonder if that is how it is for God. He has all these perfect plans for us and instead of enjoying the perfect design and security God provides we annoyingly cry out why? Thanks for the post and reminding me again that I am fortunate that God is gracious to me even when I am annoying.

    Grace and Peace.

    Tony

Leave a Reply

