Temptation

OK so it’s Wednesday and this is the day I’m trying to fast; it’s just hot chocolate and tea until the sun goes down (I know somebody will say that’s not really fasting but this is what I do).  I’m struggling a little, having thoughts like “I really don’t have to fast.”  I walk into the break room to get a cup of tea and what do I see…they ordered a catered lunch for some visitors who apparently decided to go out for lunch.  There’s a nice big tray of sandwiches, salads, pickles, you name it and it’s all up for grabs, Ahh! Temptation, but seeing that food gave me the resolve to praise God and make it for the rest of the day.  God knows us and will never test us beyond what we can handle.

1 Corinthians 10:13
No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

Heavenly Father,
Oh Lord, thank you.  You are my strength when I am weak; you know my needs and provide.  I am grateful that I can call you Father; that you gave your son that I may be saved and brought into your family.  Please give me the courage never to be ashamed to profess your name and the name of your son, Jesus Christ, in whose name I pray.
Amen

3 Responses to “Temptation”

  1. Happens to me all the time! Just Monday the secretary brought in home-made zucchini bread – grr. 🙂

    It helps me to consider myself at war on the days I fast. Maybe it’s just ’cause I’m naturally competitive, but I refuse to let my flesh conquer my spirit!

  2. Way to go on resisiting. Your post is an encouragement. Thanks!

    Peace and Grace.

    Tony

  3. Way to hang in there Jim. I am still trying to start my new years diet but I keep giving in and putting it off. Maybe one day I will be able to break the stranglehold food has on my life. Thanks for the inspiration..Chris

Leave a Reply

