Learned from a Cat

Hebrews 2:10-16 (ESV)
For it was fitting that he, for whom and by whom all things exist, in bringing many sons to glory, should make the founder of their salvation perfect through suffering. For he who sanctifies and those who are sanctified all have one source. That is why he is not ashamed to call them brothers, saying, “I will tell of your name to my brothers; in the midst of the congregation I will sing your praise.”  And again, “I will put my trust in him.” And again, “Behold, I and the children God has given me.”

I learn a great deal from my pets.  For those who don’t know me, I’ll let you in on what you’ll find at my house.  We currently have six cats and three dogs.  When I met my wife she had three cats and I had one; two of her cats are still with us; the other four cats we currently have were rescued from various circumstances and we never found homes for them so they live here.  Of the dogs, one was by choice the other two just showed up and were in need of care.

One of the cats, named ‘BB’, is my buddy.  BB tells me when it’s time for bed and loves to curl up next to me and get as close as possible.  He reaches out with his paw and has to be touching me before he will go to sleep.  He also likes to follow me around the house and generally hang out and get petted.  Here’s the thing… I would like to pick him up and hold him and have him trust me enough to be comfortable with that but he can’t do it.  He freaks out and wants to get down and then immediately acts like he wants me to pick him up.  He wants love but total submission is out of the question.

I’m the same way with God.  I try to let go and trust totally in God but my human instinct grabs hold at the last minute.  It’s like somebody being rescued from the roof of a burning building that can’t let go of the railing even though the fireman is there; his ladder is strong and safe and the building is on fire and not safe.  The fireman has to pry their fingers open to get them to let go so he can bring them to safety.  I know this is what God does to us through sanctification but wouldn’t it be easier just to let go right away and trust in the one who knows what’s best for us?

Heavenly Father,
By your great mercy you sent your only son that we might be saved and you placed your Holy Spirit in our hearts that we would be convicted and know our need of salvation.  Yet, we are a sinful people; no matter how we try we simply can not let go of our own will, our own way, and trust in you alone.  It is only through the work you do on our hearts that we are able to seek you at all.  Oh, Lord, strengthen our faith and draw us closer to you so at the moment we must let go we will trust in you for our salvation.  This we pray in the great name of Jesus Christ, our Lord and Saviour.
Amen

One Response to “Learned from a Cat”

  1. What a fine illustration. And Amen to your prayer.

Leave a Reply

