Decaf

I am writing from a hotel in a small town in Minnesota tonight. I don’t want to be here; I don’t like to travel very much; especially without my wife; this is a very small town and I prefer civilization. I’m only here because my job requires it; it’s the first time they have asked me to travel since September of 2001 so I can’t really complain about the amount of travel. The hotel room is fine but I have had a head cold and cough for over a week and would prefer to be at home where I have all the comforts of (…wait for it…don’t try to guess…) home. The particular comforts I’m thinking of are hot chocolate and hot tea which are soothing on the throat. I thought hotels usually had tea bags with the little courtesy coffee maker in the rooms but not tonight. So, I’m drinking some watered-down decaf coffee (I don’t like coffee), I know I could go downstairs and get tea, too much effort, “…be content with what you have…”

Hebrews 13:5 (ESV)
Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

By the way, I have seen the comment “emphasis is my own” underneath quotes from the Bible and thought I might point out that the Bible in its original form contained no bold or italic typeface; it did not have chapter and verse numbers; and was hand-written.

So, of course the emphasis is my own…or is it? Is it not the Holy Spirit that brought to my mind this phrase? “…be content with what you have…”

The first sip of coffee was terrible but then for a couple of sips I was content with it. Now, I think, I will find the coke machine.

Heavenly Father,
You created the heavens and the earth, and provide everything I truly need. Please, help me to be content to know that you are God and that minor discomforts on earth are not important. Your son, Jesus, was made to suffer and die for my sins, so that I would have eternal life. Yet, I complain when I don’t have my favorite beverage.  Lord, please forgive my ingratitude and allow me to speak boldly about your love for humanity, in Jesus’ name I pray.
Amen

One Response to “Decaf”

  1. Jim,

    I hope you and Tony have a safe trip back to Nashville. later..Chris

Leave a Reply

