Perspective

As I was watching the ISS go over last night I thought how amazing it is that men were able to put this thing in the sky. Then I looked at the moon and thought about Jupiter, Saturn and the other planets and who put them in the sky. The ISS is but a spec and will only last a short time when compared to God’s creation. This is, of course, humbling and puts things in proper perspective.

The theme of moderation has come up in my Bible studies recently. This is a very difficult thing; God doesn’t want us to obstain from all pleasures that he has given to us but he wants us to enjoy them in their proper place. I haven’t looked at my Google reader recently because when I first discovered all of the great blogs that are available I wanted read them all. A good thing gone out of control becomes a bad thing. So, I went to the other extreme; stopped looking at it; stopped blogging completely. I just opened it and there are 430 unread items; really, when am I going to read all of those? I also have a stack of unread books I bought at the beginning of the year, last week I put one on the visor of my truck so I could read it a little at a time when I was waiting for Jennifer to get out of work – instead of complaining about having to wait I can read.

I’m going to try using the reader again without getting crazy. I’m unsubsribing from most and going back to just the small group of friends I started with as my online Christian community. I know some of you in real life (for lack of a better term as if online isn’t real?) and some I’ve never met but we are community just the same.

God bless,
-jim

2 Responses to “Perspective”

  1. Well that explains where you’ve been. You’re not the only one I know who’s been on an internet “fast” because they’ve gone overboard. I’m glad you’re back and hope you will be able to continue with a new measure of temperance.

  2. Hi Laurie,
    Well, it didn’t start out as a ‘fast’ I just got really busy at work and didn’t have time to do anything else. Then when things let up a bit I was so far behind on my reading that I gave up. Hope you and Paul are well, I read his blog on being layed-off and how he was writing, that’s great that he is using the time to do something productive. My step-daughter also got layed-off recently so we are praying for her to land on her feet, God knows we are in no position to be able to help her financially.
    God bless,
    -jim

Leave a Reply

